Skip to content

Classic(al).

April 11, 2010

This morning I found myself sitting on an old wooden bench in my tiny garden, rays of sunshine flashing through the impressive forest trees surrounding this garden. The rays cut the morning glory dew, giving the surroundings a mystical appearance. As if the beautiful beings our mind creates, could cross the line between our fantasy and reality any moment. I could have found myself in an era long forgotten, with valiant knights, gorgeous shield maidens, dragons, magicians, with a beautiful violinist playing, unseen, through woods. My ever loyal Labrador Rose lay at my feet, still slumbering between her lucid dreams and reality. It was a moment of pure serenity and how I longed to stay there forever.

Yet, my iPhone reminded me it was the year 2010, but I needed it to drift away like I did this morning. How, I will tell you in a bit, but I am sure the following quote will explain as much too.

Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons.  You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.

Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr (1809-1894, American Physician)

My musical baths generally consist out of classical music, be it instrumental or opera. This morning Janine Jansen accompanied me and my music bath (by figure of speaking ofc,). I listened to her recording of Mendelssohn & Bruch violin concertos. A truly magnificent interpretation of these concertos. I recommend listening to one or two recordings of her, to anyone who hasn’t yet discovered her. Here’s what the professionals say about her; “[Jansen’s] interpretation seems to flow as naturally from the heart of the music as water from a spring” The Times (UK) and “If one had to evoke the Dutch violinist Janine Jansen in a word, it would be energy.” The Times (UK). I couldn’t agree more.

Of course I love a lot of other composers too, for example vivaldi and especially his concertos for lute and mandolin. I really enjoy music from the baroque era, and obviously the well known composers like; Mozart, Beethoven and Strauss (big fan of waltzes). To me classical music is something you have to learn to listen to. I hear so many friends of mine saying “How can you listen to that” or “It makes me more stressed or nervous then I am already am”. Well in the very beginning I experienced that too, not that strong, but I couldn’t listen to classical music for long periods of time, let alone find ‘peace’ or ‘serenity’ in it. But when I grew older and things (tragic or happy) started to happen around me I started appreciating it, cause I started associating events with (classical) music. And eventually I could find myself, like this morning, drifting away into a certain serenity, which I cannot reach otherwise. Leading me to the second quote;

“Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life.”

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827, German Composer)

I think classical music is something everyone experiences differently, but the fact is, you have to ‘experience’ it, almost literally. Let your mind merge with the melody of the music and drift away on emotions that will accompany you. Cry, laugh, be melancholic, romantic, angry, sad. Find yourself in a magical world, courting someone beautiful or fly on the back of a dragon. But experience it and let it happen.

Now, I am curious about what kind of classical music you like, and perhaps add some suggestions of composers/players I should be aware of. Finally, I would like to end this entry wishing you a nice sunday and I’ll leave with a youtube movie of Janine Jansen;

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

